top of page

Why don't we...

It was your typical Wednesday mid-afternoon at work. As the Communications Director of a church, there are days that you never REALLY know what they'll bring. But today I was expecting a shipment of coffee tumblers (hey church branding). I had a few people helping me with unloading the semi and putting the mugs in a place for storage. One of our couples stayed after a bit to chat.

The conversation was the typical catching-up. Then, they said it.

"Why don't we find Molly a nice boy to date?"

I nicely chuckled and brushed the comment off. They eventually went about the rest of their day, as did I. But the comment still hung in my mind.

Currently, I'm at a good place of contentment with being single. That hasn't always been the case, however. I grew up in the Christian subculture. I grew up having older women tell me to pray for my future husband (I am not saying you shouldn't do this. I just think it's excessive to tell a girl to do this when she's 8). I grew up thinking that if you weren't married by at least 25, there was something wrong. I went to Bible College where it seemed like everyone was pairing off except me. I've worked in a church setting since 2014 where, at times, I've felt like less of a person because I don't have a husband.

"Why don't you?"

It's a question I've been asked a lot. People have offered to find me nice boys to date. People have suggested online dating. People have been so fixated on MY future that they forget a big part of life:

It's happening right now.

The only time I fixate on what I don't have is when I'm isolated and inactive. So what do I do? I live my best life- I go on adventures. I gain experiences. I go see my friends. I laugh and love and rest. I go to the gym and I go visit my family. My life is full. Saying my life is full doesn't imply that I don't long for that boyfriend-to-fiance-to-husband relationship. BECAUSE I DO.

Each time that question is asked, God speaks into me the need for contentment. There is good in every season. There is joy to be found there. The way those things come to light are to be content in the season where you are currently. It is okay to look ahead and say, "God, this is the desire of my heart and I know You can make it happen." But trying to will those things on your own never ends well- no matter what the situation.

I'm reminded of the apostle Paul- who wrote:

"...for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need." (Philippians 4:11b-12 ESV)

Contentment is something that we LEARN. So why don't we? Why don't we want to be content in the season we're in? Because our society tells us to want the next thing- the thing that's "better".

The last verse of the above passage is probably one of the most famous ones-- Philippians 4:13: "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me."

It gets taken out of context a lot (that's an understatement). It's not talking about performing well in athletics or doing well on a test. It's about being content in every situation--abundance or want, low or high, mountain or valley. Know God is working.

That's something I'm working on and, in all honesty, some days I fail miserably.But thank God for his grace when I do fail.

So celebrate each season. Don't focus on what you don't have (or what someone around you doesn't have. Have open and honest conversations with people- especially if you're going to use the line "we should find you a nice boy (or girl... because I'm not sure how many male readers I have)."

Be content with where God has you while in a culture that tells you that's weird.

bottom of page